Hazard Identification and Risk Assessment

Hazard identification is part of the process used to evaluate whether any particular situation, item or structure has the potential to cause harm. The term often used to describe the full process is risk assessment: Identify hazards and risk factors that have the potential to cause harm (hazard identification).


At Black Sea Terminal (BST) a risk assessment is required before undertaking any non-routine work. BST’s risk assessment system consists of two levels: Level 1 - Risk and control measures mentioned in Permit to Work (PTW) lists; Level 2 - if the risks and control measures are not sufficient to trigger a work order, then an additional risk assessment is prepared and attached to the PTW list. It is mandatory to ensure that all hazards associated with activities are identified and that the risks are assessed and managed.


Employees carrying out the risk assessment are responsible for:


•         Understanding the hazards, risks and controls associated with the task

•         Participating and contributing to the Toolbox Talk

•         Actively monitoring the worksite and surroundings for changes

•         Stopping the job at any time if any hazards are revealed


A standard risk assessment involves a review of the task by the performing authority, competent person, team leader or area authority (if/when required) to identify the hazards associated with the task and appropriate control measures required to manage these hazards.

At Level – 2 consists of three types of additional risk assessment:


  • Task Risk Assessment (TRA)
  • Operational Risk Assessment (ORA)
  • Isolation Risk Assessment (IRA)


The hierarchy of controls is applied in the following order:


  • Eliminate
  • Reduce


A combination of measures is usually necessary in order to reduce the level of risk to LFA (low for accepting).

All News



E-mail us: